In short, you can:

Enter Portugal without a special visa

Live and work in Portugal

Bring your family with you

Apply for permanent residency and/or Portuguese citizenship after five years

Access the Portuguese healthcare and education system (on the same basis as Portuguese citizens)

Travel freely in the entire Schengen Area:

Map over the Schengen area where Portuguese Golden Visa holders may travel visa-free

The Schengen countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The EU members Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania, are all required to join the Schengen area in the future, but as a Portuguese resident, you can already travel there visa-free.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here